ASRS Awards

The American Society of Retina Specialists presents several awards each year to recognize excellence and innovation in the field of retina. Congratulations to this year's recipients!

2021 Recipients

The Founders Award

Stanislao Rizzo, MD, FASRS, chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at the Agostino Gemelli University Hospital Foundation IRCCS and a professor at the Catholic University of Rome, is the recipient of the 2021 ASRS Founders Award. Dr. Rizzo is receiving the award for his major contributions to the advancement of vitreoretinal surgery, treatment, research, surgical instrumentation, and patient care.

The Founders Award was first presented in 1997 to honor the efforts of the Society’s founders, Drs. Jerald A. Bovino, Roy A. Levit, and Allen Z. Verne, for their foresight, dedication, and leadership in establishing the Society as an open, democratic, worldwide organization dedicated to the advancement of vitreoretinal surgery and the study of vitreoretinal diseases.

Learn more about Dr. Rizzo and the Founders Award.

Gertrude D. Pyron Award and Lecture

The 26th Annual Retina Research Foundation Gertrude D. Pyron Award recipient is  Cynthia A. Toth, MD, the Joseph A.C. Wadsworth Professor of Ophthalmology at Duke University School of Medicine and professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering at Duke University’s Pratt School of Engineering. Dr. Toth is also vice chair of clinical research and director of physician-scientist development for Duke Eye Center.

The Pyron Award was created by the Retina Research Foundation of Houston, Texas, to recognize outstanding vision scientists whose work contributes to knowledge about vitreoretinal disease.

Click to learn more about Dr. Toth and the Pyron Award

ASRS Presidents’ Retina Young Investigator Award

The Foundation has selected Arshad M. Khanani, MD, MA, FASRS, as the winner of the eighth annual ASRS Presidents’ Young Investigator Award. Dr. Khanani is a managing partner, director of clinical research, and director of fellowship at Sierra Eye Associates in Reno, Nevada. He is also a clinical associate professor at the University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine.

The ASRS Presidents’ Young Investigator Award is given by the Foundation to honor past presidents of our Society by nurturing the development of next-generation retina leaders. The winner receives a $15,000 honorarium. We are grateful for support of this award through a grant from Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

The Young Investigator Award recognizes an ASRS member age 45 or younger who has made substantial contributions to the field of retina that will potentially improve the lives of our patients.

Click to learn more about Dr. Khanani and the Young Investigator Award.

The Packo Service Award

The ASRS has chosen Reginald J. Sanders, MD, FASRS, partner at the Retina Group of Washington (RGW) in Chevy Chase, Maryland, as the winner of the 2021 Packo Award, in recognition of his exceptional service to the Society. 

The Packo Award is named in honor of its first recipient, ASRS 2001-2002 President Kirk H. Packo, MD, FACS, FASRS, whose dynamic leadership and strategic innovations helped shape and advance the Society for more than 30 years.

Click to learn more about Dr. Sanders and the Packo Award.

Early Career Section Crystal Apple Award

The ASRS Early Career Section (ECS) has selected R.V. Paul Chan, MD, MSc, MBA, FACS, as the winner of the 2021 Crystal Apple Award for excellence in teaching and mentorship.

Dr. Chan is the department head and the John H. Panton, MD Professor of Ophthalmology at the Illinois Eye and Ear Infirmary of the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC). He is co-director of the Vitreoretinal Fellowship and serves as director of the Pediatric Retina and Retinopathy of Prematurity (ROP) Service.

The Crystal Apple is a special recognition that is presented to an ASRS member who has gone to great lengths to advance the education and professional development of young vitreoretinal specialists. In addition to receiving the award, each year's recipient also presents a distinguished lecture during the Early Career Section's Annual Meeting luncheon. 

Click to learn more about Dr. Chan and the Crystal Apple Award 

Retina Image Bank Image of the Year

Congratulations to Gabriel Costa de Andrade, MD, whose image Ocular Ischemic Syndrome has received the ASRS Retina Image Bank's 2021 Image of the Year Award.