Gertrude D. Pyron Award

The Retina Research Foundation’s Gertrude D. Pyron Award

The Pyron Award was created by the Retina Research Foundation of Houston, Texas, to recognize outstanding vision scientists whose work contributes to knowledge about vitreoretinal disease.

Gertrude D. Pyron

The award, which offers a cash prize and research grant, is presented each year at the ASRS Annual Meeting. The recipient is chosen by the ASRS Awards Committee.

The Pyron Award has been endowed by an estate gift from Gertrude D. Pyron of San Antonio, Texas. She was an eminent geologist during her lifetime, and made her bequest to Retina Research Foundation (RRF) because of her admiration for Dr. Alice McPherson’s leadership in vision science.

Retina Research Foundation was founded in 1969 by Dr. Alice McPherson, a member of the American Society of Retina Specialists, to establish and fund programs for the eradication of vitreoretinal disease. A public charity based in Houston, it has grown with support from a few community leaders to a major foundation, with broad support, funding a grant program, a major awards program, a career develop­ment program, and annual support for several research chairs.

The awards program sponsors lectureships not only at the ASRS Annual Meeting, but also the Award of Merit Lecture of The Retina Society, the Mills & Margaret Cox Award of The Macula Society, the Kayser Award of the Schepens International Society, and the Gonin Lecture of Club Jules Gonin.

Research chairs are endowed at the Baylor College of Medicine, and the University of Wisconsin Medical School. Travel awards and scholars programs are supported at the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology and the Pan­American Association of Ophthalmology.

The ASRS is proud to be the recipient of the Pyron Award as part of this major awards program. The awards program for the RRF was established in 1978 to provided honoraria and research grants to internationally known retina scientists in recognition of their lifetime achievements.

The Retina Research Foundation has sponsored a Lectureship Research Award at the American Society of Retina Specialists Annual Meeting since 1995. From 1995 through 1998, the lectureship was named in honor of W.H. Helmerich, III. Commencing in 1999, the award series changed to honor Gertrude Pyron.

The 29th Annual Gertrude D. Pyron Award  

The Retina Research Foundation’s Gertrude D. Pyron Award is being presented to Anat Loewenstein, MD, MHA, of Tel Aviv, Israel.

Dr. Loewenstein is a professor and director of the Division of Ophthalmology at Tel Aviv Medical Center, and vice president of the hospital at the Tel Aviv Medical Center. She is a full professor and the Sidney Fox Chair of Ophthalmology at the Sackler Faculty of Medicine. Dr. Loewenstein is also president of EURETINA as well as the Israeli Ophthalmological Society.

The Pyron Award was created by the Retina Research Foundation of Houston, Texas—founded by the late Alice McPherson, MD—to recognize outstanding vision scientists whose work contributes to knowledge about vitreoretinal disease. Its $50,000 cash prize includes a $5,000 personal honorarium and a $45,000 research grant.

Dr. Loewenstein’s main interests are the investigation of drug administration and retinal toxicity, early detection of macular degeneration, and home monitoring of retinal disease. She is leading research on several cutting-edge technologies implemented in large-scale clinical trials and in the clinical setting. Dr. Loewenstein also has led research on home OCT and the development of a technology employing virtual reality to replace the standard operating microscope in vitreoretinal surgery.

She serves as editor in chief of Case Reports in Ophthalmology and is an associate editor of Investigative Ophthalmology & Visual Science, European Journal of Ophthalmology, and Ophthalmologica. Dr. Loewenstein has published more than 500 papers in peer-reviewed journals and contributed multiple chapters to ophthalmology textbooks.

Her memberships include Israel’s National Council of Surgery and the Israeli Academy of Medicine as well as the Academia Ophthalmological Internationalis. Dr. Loewenstein leads mentorship groups of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology and EURETINA. She also serves on the board of the European School for Advanced Studies in Ophthalmology. 

The Retina Research Foundation Honorees

1995    George F. Hilton, MD
1996    Robert C. Watzke, MD
1997    Thomas M. Aaberg, Sr., MD
1998    Stanley Chang, MD
1999    Harry W. Flynn, Jr., MD
2000    Gholam A. Peyman, MD
2001    Yasuo Tano, MD
2002    Michael T. Trese, MD
2003    Lloyd M. Aiello, MD
2004    Morton F. Goldberg, MD
2005    Mark S. Blumenkranz, MD
2006    Brooks W. McCuen, II, MD
2007    Carmen A. Puliafito, MD, MBA
2008    Susan B. Bressler, MD & Neil M. Bressler, MD
2009    C.P. Wilkinson, MD
2010    Julia A. Haller, MD
2011    Jean Bennett, MD, PhD & Albert M. Maguire, MD
2012    Daniel F. Martin, MD
2013    George A. Williams, MD
2014    Andrew P. Schachat, MD
2015    Gary W. Abrams, MD
2016    Donald J. D'Amico, MD
2017    Paul A. Sieving, MD, PhD
2018    Joan W. Miller, MD
2019    Joan M. O'Brien, MD
2020    Mark S. Humayun, MD, PhD
2021    Cynthia A. Toth, MD
2022     Mary Elizabeth Hartnett, MD, FASRS 
2023     Eugene de Juan, Jr., MD, FASRS
2024     Anat Loewenstein, MD, MHA