Jennifer I. Lim, MD, FARVO, FASRS

Jennifer I. Lim, MD, FARVO, FASRS

1855 W. Taylor Street, Suite 250
Chicago, IL 60612
United States map

(312) 413-0704 office

Professional Affiliations

Academic Appointments
  • Marion Schenk Chair and Professor of Ophthalmology
  • University of Illinois at Chicago
Hospital Appointments
  • University of Illinois at Chicago

Education and Training

Retinal fellowship
Johns Hopkins Wilmer Eye Institute, Baltimore MD
Medical school
Northwestern University, Chicago IL
Northwestern University, Evanston IL
Ophthalmology residency
University of Illinois at Chicago, Department of Ophthalmology, Chicago IL
Additional fellowship
Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, Baltimore MD USA


Dr. Jennifer I. Lim holds the Marion H. Schenk Esq., Chair in Ophthalmology for Research in the Aging Eye as a UIC Distinguished Professor of Ophthalmology and the Vice Chair for Diversity & Inclusion and Director of the Retina Service at University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC). She received her MD with Distinction from Northwestern University (Six-Years Honors Program in Medical Education), where she was AOA and received the Dean’s AOA Student Research Award and Julius Conn Memorial Award. She completed residency at UIC, receiving the Resident Research Award and American College of Surgeons Resident Competition Chicago Chapter Keeshin Prize. She completed medical and surgical retina fellowships at Wilmer Eye Institute of Johns Hopkins Hospital as a Heed Fellow and Heed Knapp Fellow. She joined the faculty of Emory University as an Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology and was recruited to Doheny Eye Institute of University of Southern California (USC) as an Associate Professor with tenure and promoted to Professor. In 2007, she was recruited to UIC. Her research interests include clinical trials, translational research and retinal imaging for which she has an R01 NIH grant. Current leadership positions include Associate Editor for JAMA Ophthalmology, EyeWiki Deputy Editor-in-Chief, Vice President of The Retina Society, Past-President of COS, IOVS Editorial Board member, AOA UIC Medical School Councilor, and UIC Faculty Senator. She has received the AAO Life Achievement Honor Award, AAO Secretariat Award, ASRS Senior Honor Award, Suzanne-Veronneau Troutman Award, ARVO Silver & Gold Fellow Awards, the Paul Henkind Memorial Award, Women in Ophthalmology Scientific Contribution Award, Chinese American Ophthalmology Service awards, USC teaching awards, ASRS Retina Hall of Fame, UIC Departmental Faculty of the Year Award, Mother McAuley Liberal Arts HS Hall of Honor Award, inaugural UIC Distinguished Sweeney Lecturer, inaugural ASRS Hall of Fame, Chicago Super Docs, Best Doctors, & Top Doctors and Newsweek's Best Ophthalmologists. She has authored over 350 articles, 30 book chapters and edited several books including Age-Related Macular Degeneration (now in the Third Edition).