The History of the ASRS 

The Vitreous Society was founded in 1982 by Jerald A. Bovino, MD, Roy A. Levit, MD, and Allen Z. Verne, MD with the idea of an open, egalitarian society that would promote camaraderie among retina specialists and free exchange of information. It was founded on a philosophy that encompasses 5 attributes: inclusiveness, education, research, fellowship, and service. The first meeting of the Society was held in Palm Springs, CA in 1983 and was attended by 44 of the Society's 55 charter members. In 2002, the name changed to The American Society of Retina Specialists. Currently, there are over 3000 members representing 60 countries.

Read more about the founding of the ASRS as told by founder Jerald A. Bovino, MD